thermoPre®

The single-stage direct processing technology

thermoPre®

Fiber composite for large-scale production

thermoPre® as an innovative regional growth core

The production of thermoplastic prepegs suitable for fibres and processes as a large-scale technology was studied and developed in the thermoPre® innovative, regional growth core (2013 - 2015). This focused on single-stage direct manufacturing “in a single heating procedure”, which combines the previously separated process stages for prepeg production in one system.

The systems technology required for this is modular and structured as an end-to-end process chain; it starts with the reinforcement fibres, continues to the thermoplastic, continuous, fibre-reinforced prepegs and even includes components able to withstand high stress levels. Sample components already made clearly show the improvement in performance that is available with thermoPre®, along with the reduction in costs.

The thermoPre® growth core was subdivided into 7 R&D network projects. The major focus was on the technology projects to study and develop the single-stage, direct manufacturing and “contitaping” technologies.

Using the “contitaping” method, it is possible to manufacture robust, multi-layer composites (organic sheeting) in one continuous process; they may have several layers of continuous, fibre-reinforced thermoplastic thermoPre® prepegs, for example.

Using well-established further processing technologies, new production methods were developed in four project-wide applications - and the complete value-added chain was optimised at the same time. The design and simulation of the new thermoPre® composites and components and the technical harmonisation of the individual plant modules are extremely important. The first selected material cards are already available. Most component examples and many current applications come from the automotive and commercial vehicle sector.

Affordable lightweight design through continuous fibre-reinforced thermoplastic prepegs

The companies and research institutions in the thermoPre® interdisciplinary network are seeking to continue the R&D activities from the growth core and have joined forces in the thermoPre e.V. research network. One major goal involves developing adaptive technologies to perfect the process chain for manufacturing fibre-reinforced thermoplastic prepegs and components.

thermoPre®

Technologie der einstufigen Direktverarbeitung

thermoPre®

Faserverbunde für die Großserie

thermoPre® als innovativer regionaler Wachstumskern

Im innovativen regionalen Wachstumskern thermo­Pre® (2013 bis 2015) ist die faser- und prozessgerechte Herstellung thermoplastischer Halbzeuge als großserientaugliche Technologie erforscht und entwickelt worden. Im Zentrum steht die einstufige Direktverarbeitung „in einer Wärme“, welche bisher separierte Prozessstufen der Halbzeugherstellung in einem Verarbeitungssystem zusammenfasst.

Die dafür notwendige Anlagentechnik ist modular als durchgängige Prozesskette aufgebaut, beginnend von den Verstärkungsfasern, über die thermoplastischen endlosfaserverstärkten Halbzeuge, bis hin zu den belastungsgerechten Bauteilen. Bereits hergestellte Musterbauteile zeigen deutlich, welche Verbesserung der Performance bei gleichzeitiger Senkung der Kosten mit thermo­Pre® möglich ist.

Der Wachstumskern thermo­Pre® wurde in insgesamt 7 FuE-Verbundvorhaben unterteilt. Die Technologieprojekte zur Erforschung und Entwicklung der einstufigen Direktverarbeitungs- sowie der Contitapingtechnologie standen hierbei im Mittelpunkt.

Mit dem Contitaping-Verfahren ist es möglich, in einem kontinuierlichen Prozess belastungsgerechte Mehrschichtverbunde (Organobleche) herzustellen, welche z. B. aus mehreren Lagen endlosfaserverstärkter thermoplastischer thermo­Pre®-Prepregs bestehen.

In vier projektübergreifenden Applikationen wurden mittels etablierter Weiterverarbeitungstechnologien neue Herstellverfahren für Bauteile entwickelt und zugleich die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette optimiert. Der Auslegung und Simulation der neuen thermoPre®-Verbundwerkstoffe und Bauteile sowie der technischen Abstimmung der einzelnen Anlagenmodule kommt dabei eine große Bedeutung zu. Erste ausgewählte Materialkarten liegen bereits vor. Die meisten Bauteilbeispiele, wie auch viele aktuelle Anwendungen, kommen aus dem Automotive- und Nutzfahrzeugsektor.

Bezahlbarer Leichtbau durch endlosfaserverstärkte thermoplastische Halbzeuge

Die Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen aus dem interdisziplinären Bündnis thermo­Pre® streben die Fortführung der F&E-Tätigkeiten aus dem Wachstumskern an und haben sich dafür im Forschungsverbund thermo­Pre e.V. zusammengeschlossen. Ein wesentliches Ziel besteht dabei in der Entwicklung adaptiver Technologien zur Vervollkommnung der Prozesskette zur Herstellung faserverstärkter thermoplastischer Halbzeuge und Bauteile.